Software to track cost of rehab and rental - Posted by Tony (Balto.)

Posted by Julio on November 20, 2000 at 21:23:54:

nt

Software to track cost of rehab and rental - Posted by Tony (Balto.)

Posted by Tony (Balto.) on November 20, 2000 at 20:32:49:

I just purchased QuickBooks Pro 2000. This is my first year in the business. I’m not sure if this is the best program to track the cost of doing a rehab and tracking rent. I have bought two rehabs and one Rental property this year and I’m tring to get all the paper work in order. Anybody recomend this program or a better one.

Re: Software to track cost of rehab and rental - Posted by Paul NM

Posted by Paul NM on November 21, 2000 at 15:07:20:

Hi Tony,

All of these programs are just specialized databases and the key to success is setting up catgories that work for you. I personally prefer Quicken because it lets me delete mistakes and doesn’t force me to make a correcting entry like a “real” accounting program would.

On the category line I put things like

Electricity/house1

I can then pull reports by electricity across properties or expenses by property. If you put a colon after the property name you can subset further.

The accountants reading this will laugh because it is so obvious to them, but in an independent burst of genius :slight_smile: I came up with the idea of an account named Cash. All money coming in goes through the cash account. This solved the problems I was having when I would make a deposit, get some cash and use the cash to buy parts for three different properties.

PaulNM

Re: Software to track cost of rehab and rental - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on November 21, 2000 at 14:09:31: