Some points on real estate commission - Posted by Dan Stra

Posted by Bill (NY) on April 19, 2002 at 19:16:14:

Thanks GB, I’ll remember that “one time showing agreement”, sounds like the agent should have offered this but also liked the 15 houses I picked out. She probably figures see can re-list all.

Some points on real estate commission - Posted by Dan Stra

Posted by Dan Stra on April 19, 2002 at 24:24:15:

I have seen a lot of different things said about real estate commissions here and felt I would clarify some things. If you are thoroughly familiar with how real estate commission splits work and so on this post will not be for you.

DISCLAIMER
For starters, as an agent, I cannot divulge what “I” charge as that would be considered monopolistic practice. Furthermore, I cannot state that a certain percent is what “most” agents charge. With this in mind ALL of the numbers noted below are hypothetical.

BRIEF EXPLANATION OF COMMISSION
If you, the seller, hire a broker to sell your prop and the broker charges a theoretical 6% you can expect that a full half of that will go to the broker that brings a buyer (in theory, there are exceptions). So, in this example, each broker gets 3%. FYI-The percent that the broker who brings the buyer gets is called the “co-broke”. The co-broke percent is stated in the MLS.

I use broker as the example because brokers pay differnet percentages of what they get to the agents that work for them. So, if the broker gets 3% and the agent that works for the broker is on a 50/50 split then the broker pays the agent 1.5 percent.

EXPLANATION OF THE DEEP DISCOUNTS