Something Fishy - Posted by kathleen

Posted by Redline on March 16, 1999 at 13:31:21:

Hehehe … I like that.

Well, yes it’s tough to figure out if you can’t be present. There are ways (it’s not IMPOSSIBLE) however …

As far as knowing who the owner is, that’s easy. I’m a realtor and it’s probably listed on the MLS. (If I wasn’t, I would just visit the local tax office).

RL

Something Fishy - Posted by kathleen

Posted by kathleen on March 13, 1999 at 22:08:07:

The last six offers that I have made have been on foreclosures that have been on the market for at least 3 months. I call and ask the listing agent if the property is still available before I write the offer. Each time they have said yes. So I send in the offer and a few days later I call to see if there is a response. Each time I’ve been told that there is another offer in and each time the other offer has been accepted.

I am beginning to suspect that the agents are having their own people put in an offer higher than mine. How can I find this out and what can I do about it? I’m getting very discouraged looking at so many properties, narrowing down to the ones I feel are good prospects and then being outbid!

Re: Something Fishy - Posted by HankM

Posted by HankM on March 14, 1999 at 11:10:05:

Well … it happens, just like “secret” listings that never get to the MLS. An agent’s job is to get the best price for his/her client.

The presentment issue is separate, if you feel that you’re offer isn’t being presented, ask to be there when it’s presented; but this can be colossal time waster if you are writting lots of offers. I don’t like dealing with agents much anyway, but if you have to expect that they are the sellers representative and will do what is needed to get the best sale … if that means soliciting an offer from someone while one is one the table, they will do it.