Starker 1031 Exchanges? - Posted by MPM_FL

Posted by ray@lcorn on October 24, 2000 at 22:58:16:

Sounds like you’re into a development option deal. The way it works is the developer options your property, does the initial due diligence work, and tries to gain the approval of the end user’s site committee. Depending on what type of client he has for an end user, the decision will likely be up to a committee. They can give you heartburn with some of the requirements they can come up with. It’s a lot like being nibbled to death by ducks.

Whatever the use, be prepared for a long process. I hope you crafted the option with significant option money. As a seller, I often structure the option with monthly payments. That way the developer doesn’t have to come out of pocket all at once, but over the ninety to 120 day option period I get more than most will get. As a developer I try to hold the deal for as little cash as possible for as long as possible. I’ve had a number of these deals drag on for a year or more. If it is a drug store, be prepared for it to take longer than anyone thinks… that market is very soft right now. Ditto for hotels. Restaurants and C-Stores will move a little faster, but if a rezoning is required you will be at the mercy of the Planning Commission. If you know anybody on the commission or the governing body, now is the time to put them on your Christmas list!

Your cross access easement is good thinking, but be sure you get it in writing in the contract, and that the deed and plats also reflect the agreement.