Start Up Money? How much do you NEED? - Posted by yello_dragonz

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on September 10, 2003 at 20:59:31:

Yello dragonz------------------

Yes. You might want to study the low-down and no-down methods of getting ownership or getting control of properties. There are many.

Good InvestingRon Starr***

Start Up Money? How much do you NEED? - Posted by yello_dragonz

Posted by yello_dragonz on September 10, 2003 at 16:42:11:

I am still a student and find this business really interesting. But I only have so much from my part time job, and was wondering how much you guys needed to start on your first investment. I have $8K saved up and am willing to use it in RE. Is this enough?

Tom’s right, it depends on what you do - Posted by Eddie

Posted by Eddie on September 12, 2003 at 11:30:59:

Tom gives good advice. Traditional buy and hold is only one of many ways to make money in this business. You may also wholesale, flip, lease/option, rehab, or other things. Which of those you may want to do depends on a lot of things including your skills, aptitudes, available time, and temperment, and perhaps most of all your personal goals in life. Read the archives here for all those ideas.

The cash you have may be enough to wholesale or lease-option, but it may not be enough yet to buy and hold properties. I have had rentals for years now and have only slowly built up a good cash reserve. But in hindsight that may not have been a good idea - to be honest I think I’ve been more lucky than good - if I were starting over now, one thing I would do differently would be to learn the techniques that help you build up your cash reserve over time - for example, wholesaling.