Stumbled upon Possible RE Investment - Advice Appreciated

Hi all,

I came across this forum researching a particular real estate investment opportunity that I’ve been debating, and figured I should try to solicit some input from the Pros, especially since my background is void of any real estate investment knowledge.

I bought a 3,200 SQFT house in April of 2014 for $305K in Arvada, CO. The house was completely re-modeled upon purchase and in a way that made renting out the bottom seamless: 1,600 SQFT up and 1,600 SQFT bottom, BOTH having 3bd/2ba, each having FULL range kitchens, laundry rooms, living/family rooms, dining rooms, completely separate entrances (walk-out basement accessed around side yard), and bifurcated parking spots. Financing was a little tricky since I had to convince the bank that a single-family was going to occupy the house (not zoned or legally grandfathered in for multi), but it all worked out at the end. It was perfect to lease out the bottom our first year, which covered a substantial portion of our $1,800/month mortgage, but we recently had to ‘boot’ the tenants downstairs so that we could take over a couple of the rooms (baby number 1 on the way and I needed to move my office to make room for our little guy - crazy how time flies and space requirements double :wink: ).

The hot Colorado rental market got me thinking. Is it time to buy another house and rent out our existing one in a duplex style manner. The property management company that I met up with the other day is convinced that I could squeeze AT LEAST $3K/month from renting ($1,700/month top and $1,300/month bottom). Our current principal balance on our existing mortgage is $284K on a 30-year, 4.49% fixed-rate and my lender is confident that the house would reappraise (if needed) for at LEAST $410K.