Tax strategies--sale of apt complex (S Corp) - Posted by Kevin

Posted by Jimmy on May 23, 2006 at 10:12:49:

1. the salaries you guys have colelcted are payments from the S Corp your personal services. This is W-2 income, subject to the full array of payroll taxes and income taxes. the gain from the sale of a property will (almost always) be capital gain. this gain has nothing to do with personal services. rather, it is a benefit of ownership.

2. as for the mechanics of the 1031… you ask some wonderful questions. and I am no expert. I know enough to mention the idea. you really want to talk to a CPA or tax atty who has transacted many of these deals. No point in me trying to dream up a way of doing this, when there are experts out there who already know (and know how to do it right!)

3. as for what constitutes “like kind” the rules are very liberal. an office tower for a working ranch is ok. a 4-plex would be fine.

Tax strategies–sale of apt complex (S Corp) - Posted by Kevin

Posted by Kevin on May 22, 2006 at 22:15:36:

Greetings board. I hope to hear anyone’s thoughts on tax strategies for selling a 28 unit apartment complex held by an S Corp (comprised of family member shareholders–siblings). The S Corp holds other properties as well, which we do not plan to sell in the near future. The 28 unit building has been in the family for decades and has tons of equity. We’re anticipating a significant tax hit, but have not explored the issue yet with our accountant.

I would love to go into such a meeting with some creative ideas or insights shared by this board. At present, the building probably has a value in the $1.5 to $2.0 million range. Obviously, the dollars at stake warrant some very careful tax planning.

Please excuse my ignorance here. We have never sold any of our properties and therefore have never had to deal with this type of issue.

Thanks!

Re: Tax strategies–sale of apt complex (S Corp) - Posted by Tracy D. Weaver, JD/MBA