Texus Instrument BA-35, HELP! - Posted by Carey_PA

Posted by Greg A on October 29, 1998 at 22:20:49:

I come up with a yield of 94.8

I use a HP 10B so my key strokes may not help you, but for #2 I come up with 36.3 months using the following:

I/YR = 12.75
PV = 4500
PMT = -150
Pressed N and received 36.3

I’m new to this so I hope someone can check my results. Hope this helps.

Greg

Texus Instrument BA-35, HELP! - Posted by Carey_PA

Posted by Carey_PA on October 28, 1998 at 16:52:51:

Hello gang,

It’s me again. I received a TI BA-35 financial calculator and Rich Dad, Poor Dad for my 25th birthday that past. (Oct. 17th)

I know how to use the book, but the calculator is making me angry. I figured out how compute mortgage payments, but I don’t know how to figure out yields on investments (for Lonnie Deals) and yes, I went to DOW and took Lonnie’s figures and played around, but NEVER came out with the right answers.

Can someone please tell me what buttons to push? And also, are there any formulas to know when dealing with Rehabs. (Because I bought Buy it, Fix it, Sell it, Profit for myself for my birthday) If you know of the formulas please explain them as well.

Thanks gang,

Talk to you soon,

CAREY

Re: Texus Instrument BA-35, HELP! - Posted by Barbara (ME)

Posted by Barbara (ME) on October 29, 1998 at 21:17:32:

I have had more problems with that calculator! Per your example I would put in the investment of 2000 (2500 less 500 down payment) as a minus because it is outgoing ( put in 2000, then the minus sign at the bottom, then hit loan…the TI has no PV button),then payment of $175.96, then 30 and hit “2nd, term”. Then CPT 1%.However, my yield is 115.38! I have never been able to hit Lonnie’s figures either but figured it might be the difference in calculators???Make sure you set your calculator at “end” instead of “bgn” (see manual)