the next recession -- how to thrive in it ? - Posted by chris

Posted by Ed Garcia on May 07, 1999 at 11:30:34:

Mark:

Well said.
In all markets cash is King. Mark, you hit a bulls eye with your advice.

Ed Garcia

the next recession – how to thrive in it ? - Posted by chris

Posted by chris on May 07, 1999 at 02:07:23:

I’m fairly new to this biz & all I know ( in relation to this endeavor ) is low intrest rates, low inflation, low unemployment and general stability. But this isn’t going to last forever , the economic cycle hasn’t stopped turning. … What oppurtunities will show themselves when slower economic times happen. What techniques can we , as creative real estate entrepreneurs , take advantage of ? …I don’t think the Y2K problem will cause “chaos” like some smart people say ( Jack Miller for one ) , but I do think it will trigger the long awaited recession to finally close this long cycle of expansion. One thing that’s great about our business is that we can make $ in any economy, I just have to investigate the specifics of how.

Re: the next recession – how to thrive in it ? - Posted by Robert McNeely

Posted by Robert McNeely on May 09, 1999 at 07:46:02:

A recession may help reduce the trend of our best tenants going out and buying houses. I have had several long term tenants buy in the last year. Just a thought.

Re: the next recession – how to prepare for it ? My opinion. - Posted by Tim Jensen

Posted by Tim Jensen on May 08, 1999 at 09:09:36:

Chris,

I happen to agree with everyone here that in bad times cash is king. Heck, everytime cash is king.