The sky is falling! Now what? - Posted by TDBuyer

Posted by Gary O on July 11, 2002 at 10:11:36:

Exactly! Buy, hold and rent. Some leverage is OK, but don’t leverage completely. This is what I think. I just wish some of the big dogs that post to this site regularly would give their opinion (I’m still a newbie). Maybe you could start a new post to catch their attention and we’ll give the same response.

The sky is falling! Now what? - Posted by TDBuyer

Posted by TDBuyer on July 10, 2002 at 23:14:17:

A local Los Angeles radio talk show just had on author Bob Prechter. Mr. Prechter spoke at length about the current economy and his projections for the next few years. In a nutshell he thinks the bear market is just starting and that we are going to see some serious deflation, one he likened to the depression of the 30?s. He singled out real estate as a market that will be hit?hard.

This was in part due to the fact that because the RE market is way over-inflated thanks to low interest rates.

Now we can debate whether or not his projections are valid, but for the sake of argument let?s assume his vision is valid.

How should us sharp CRE investors get positioned to survive, and profit, from the possible upcoming sh**storm?

(BTW ?Buy & Hold? author David Schumacher last night projected an additional 50 ? 60% appreciation in RE prices in the next few years.)

Re: The sky is falling! Now what? - Posted by Mark (SDCA)

Posted by Mark (SDCA) on July 11, 2002 at 17:11:30:

Lee in Tx is right on the money. The best single piece of advice I ever got was as follows:
“When the blood is running in the streets, buy the most expensive home you can afford.”
It worked like a charm 7 years ago. And if the RE market should crash it will work like a charm again.
I am actively buying in the stock market. That is one massive over-reaction. If the real estate market crashes, it will be the same and I will look to buy there as well.