TO BE (an agent) or, NOT TO BE ! - Posted by d.moren

Posted by Chenel Moore on January 29, 2000 at 10:51:41:

I took that bait and got my license in MD. Here is how it works for me, I have to disclose that I am an agent to everyone. It is a pain and arouses negative feelings and suspicion.
BUT, it also gives me some negotiating leverage. When I pose new techniques and creative ideas, sellers are less apt to question my expertise.

Other problem, dealing with those other “traditional” agents. Well, it sucks. Let me tell you why, they don’t believe that you are a true agent and they try to undermine my credibility with other agents and their own clients. So if you are spineless and just want the listings, I recommend finding someone like myself to work with.

The time and money I invested to get my license was torture. Everything that I learned in my class, I already knew from my home study courses. Even the Carleton Sheets course has a lot of information that most agents don’t know. Then I had to pay fees to take my licensing exam, fees to get my license (which you never even see, the broker holds it) fees to join 2 or 3 boards, fees to pay for your lockbox key. Yes it is all tax deductibile, but what a pain. Oh by the way, your tax status changes when you become an agent. You have to file your own taxes quarterly. I hate that part also.