What can I do with this? - Posted by Janette (KS)

Posted by JoeKaiser on March 14, 2002 at 24:32:06:

But they’re talking about the house, not the deal. There’s no room here to do much of anything. Repo owners often used to provide loans to facilatate sales, and that’s where the profit came in. If you’re strong and the repo seller will provide bargain financing with little out of pocket, there’s your deal.

Otherwise, I’d pass.

Joe

What can I do with this? - Posted by Janette (KS)

Posted by Janette (KS) on March 13, 2002 at 23:21:49:

I am a newbie who is trying to learn the ropes. I’ve been reading like crazy and trying to learn. My mind is a bit like mush right now with all the new info, so I’m not exactly sure where to start and how to evaluate this. My realtor gave me the following info…

“I do know of a great home that is a bank foreclosure on the market right now. It’s absolutely great! I’ll send over the sheet. It’s on the market for $139K and the county appraisal is $146,900. I know it could be had for lower than $139K. Probably $135K or maybe even a little less. I’ve seen it and it has a great floor plan! It’s a 2 story. It says its a 3 bedroom but it is a 4 bedroom. It has a fireplace in the family room, deck off the kitchen, fenced back yard, the basement is already studded and ready for sheetrock! It is a little rough, the carpets need heavy duty steam cleaning, but they are all neutral beige. It’s actually kind of mauve color on the exterior and has an adorable front porch with cute victorian trim. If I needed a house, I’d buy this one! With a little TLC and in 2 years it will easily sell in the middle to high $150s. Didn’t mean to go on about this house, but it’s in a good neighborhood and would have good resale or rental appeal.”