What do I do if I can not attend closings ??? - Posted by reddtrow

Posted by Dave B on February 23, 2000 at 11:50:10:

I also never attend the closing… at least the buyers closing. I sign before, or after, but never while they are there. I have passed the buyers on the way out before… and thats about all I want to be as a part of their closing. THats what the title company gets paid for. Handling closing, and anything that comes up.
As far as work schedules… I gave up my J.O.B. years ago… but I STILL sometimes have to go in at 6-7 pm. My title company has late hours for people with this problem. Maybe you can find one with such hours??

Good luck

Dave B in KC

What do I do if I can not attend closings ??? - Posted by reddtrow

Posted by reddtrow on February 22, 2000 at 10:01:41:

Hello everyone!

I hope someone out there can give me advice concerning my situation.

I am a newbie & I will be wholesaling a couple of contracts in the next couple of weeks. Because I work a full-time job and plan to close about 30 “wholesale contracts” this year; I obviously can’t be there for all closings b/c I only have two weeks vacation.

Question:
After 3 or 4 closings, should I use a power of attorney to be there in my place. Is it safe? I’d really like to use “some” vacation days for R&R.

If anyone can relate & recommend a solution; I’d appreciate your advice.

Thanxs,
Reddtrow

Never attend the closing… - Posted by Paul_NY

Posted by Paul_NY on February 22, 2000 at 22:33:00:

…says the first real estate course that I bought.

You can go to your closing agent ahead of time and sign all the required documents. Perhaps the evening before the closing. You can close and not be present.

One reason given for not attending closings is: