What do I fix? What do I not fix?? - Posted by Jenn

Posted by DSmith on May 25, 2006 at 08:07:07:

When I do a rehab, my goal is to end up with the nicest house in the neighborhood, visually.

I always repaint every inch, inside and out, and add new flooring. That?s a given.

I also almost always replace the toilets, sinks and faucets.

Then I replace all of the light fixtures with nice (but not expensive) ones. This makes a huge difference.

I also like to add a couple of things that will set it apart. My favorite is decorative ceiling tiles in the kitchen.

And don?t forget landscaping. Most rehabbers completely ignore the outside of the house.

As for the house specific things, like adding stairs to the basement; do whatever needs to be done to sell at top price fast. Work the costs into your offer and it won?t be an issue.

What do I fix? What do I not fix?? - Posted by Jenn

Posted by Jenn on May 24, 2006 at 18:35:03:

Hi there,

I’m brand new at this whole real estate thing. My husband and I are looking at a property that is selling very low in a growing area. It needs mostly cosmetic fixes, all of which we are capable of.

I know I shouldn’t get emotional about the property…I can do that. Where I’m having a problem is that if I were fixing this property up for myself, there is SO much I would do! Definitely more than is necessary to just make it ready to live in. I need to find the line in making it just nice enough to attract the buyer without overdoing and wasting my money on upgrades that aren’t necessary and hurt the bottom line.

My question is, when buying a fixer property, what things should definitely be done and what things should not be done because they cut too far into profits?