What should I do? (long) - Posted by Mike Carroll

Posted by Ernest on February 15, 2000 at 21:59:17:

Thanks Joe. This post is probably, for me, the most informative piece I’ve seen. Right! Forget about houses, look for sellers. Right! Its solving problems for people not qualifying , pre-qualifiying, pre-pre-quatlifying, ad nauseum. I’m not very experienced but the little bit I do have says your right on the money(pun intended).

I’m gonna donwload this post and put it up im my office. Thanks!

What should I do? (long) - Posted by Mike Carroll

Posted by Mike Carroll on February 15, 2000 at 18:45:40:

Hello everyone, I have recently finished the Carleton Sheets course and I have just started to make calls and gather information from ads in the local paper. The CS course is my only experience or knowledge in real estate- so if I say something wrong or stupid please correct me.)

Problem 1: I live in Athens, GA and it has a population of about 100,000 - 35,000 of which is student population (including myself) from the Univ of Georgia. Because of this there is a very good rent market. However, in the local paper there is only about 15-20 ads total for real estate sales… only which 2 or 3 are sellers who would even consider creative financing options (L/O, owner financing). Because the market for condos and SFH is so good, most sellers want almost all cash - I have very little income (all my income is Nat’l Guard and leftover student loans) and I have poor credit (what a surprise for a college student). All the properties for sale seem to be through the real estate magazines through the million real estate brokers here in town.

Problem 2: Despite all this, I have called the few ads that have sounded slightly promising. This one in particular is one I would like some suggestions on :
The ad read: ATTRACTIVE HOME
shaded lot, Comer (town 10 min from Athens)
workshop in back. Exc cond
reduced to 72,000
555-5555