What to do when seller lies? - Posted by Randy

Posted by JohnBoy on September 18, 2005 at 20:51:47:

It would had been better to just state the option price to be 96% of market value which shall be determined by appraisal along with comparable sales

What to do when seller lies? - Posted by Randy

Posted by Randy on September 17, 2005 at 13:41:18:

For a couple of years I was in a very hot market. The only way I could find a lease purchase was to offer fair market value at time of sale minus a discount.
Selling Price: Fair market value at time of sale minus 4% of selling price.
I told seller I needed the discount so I could resell it and make a profit. At the end of the 2 years he told me 4% of 800k was to much and he would go to court in order not to pay. He now claims I told him I was a licensed realtor and the 4% was to be my commission. That’s 100% bs. He a lied on 2 other accounts which I have in writing.
I have closed 3 other properties using the same method. No claim for commission and none paid out.
I am being sued by the tenant who wanted the property for failure to perform. If you were on the jury, who would you believe?

Documentation - Posted by JT-IN

Posted by JT-IN on September 17, 2005 at 17:38:28:

Randy:

If push comes to shove, and you do end up in court, you probably don’t have enough margin left in the deal to pay the cost of legal fees to defend your position. Unless you have lots of cash, and wish to do so for the sake of defending the honor of your reputation and your word.