What's a good answer to give when prospects ask if I am a Realtor? - Posted by Debra(SC)

Posted by Mark (SDCA) on January 31, 2000 at 14:12:00:

Ummmm… no… I see not being a realtor as being a GOOD thing… I would answer this question, “No… I am a BUYER.”

Mark

What’s a good answer to give when prospects ask if I am a Realtor? - Posted by Debra(SC)

Posted by Debra(SC) on January 31, 2000 at 13:42:32:

This has happened to me more than once while talking to a prospect about how I can solve their RE problems. I have been just saying ‘no,’ but this seems to change the whole atmosphere of the converstaion after that. It’s almost like they don’t take you seriously if you’re not a Realtor. Anyhone else have this problem? How do you answer and overcome this obstacle?

Thanks,
Debra

Re: What’s a good answer to give when prospects ask if I am a Realtor? - Posted by Troy

Posted by Troy on January 31, 2000 at 17:22:21:

If you are a Realtor, you must disclose it. Be proud of who you are. There is nothing to be ashamed of. If you conduct your business honestly and fairly, you should not have a problem with that. Something like: “I am a Realtor, but I’m buying for my own account.” should set the seller at ease.

If you are not a Realtor, maybe saying so before your prospect asks you could help calm them. “I’m not a Realtor, I’m buying for my own portfolio.”

If you’re not being taken seriously, it is not because you are or are not a Realtor. Show the prospect how you can solve their problem, with confidence, and move on. No need for cute answers.

Good luck.

You’re missing the point. They don’t want you to be one. - Posted by Bill Gatten

Posted by Bill Gatten on January 31, 2000 at 16:12:33:

As Mark said, NOT being a Realtor is the plus. They ask you that because they’re bombarded by Realtors calls and don’t want to have to pay out a commission. That’s why they’re FSBO’s* they don’t want to deal with Realtors. Mark’s answer is sexcellent: “No. I’m a buyer.”