When is a dealership license required? - Posted by Gary G

Posted by Toni Torocco on September 11, 2003 at 21:36:39:

Where do you go to get the dealers training certificate? How long is the course, and what does it cost? Thank you.

When is a dealership license required? - Posted by Gary G

Posted by Gary G on June 05, 2000 at 20:22:12:

I’m brand new to the scene. I just bought the Deals on Wheels book. I’m looking for my first deal. I live in Florida. If I buy a used home from a seller and do a sale,am I in violation of any laws that requires a license. The Florida law states" that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, displays for sale or deals in one or more mobile homes in any 12 month period is presumed to be a mobile home dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State". Would this apply to me? What about sales tax?

Re: When is a dealership license required? - Posted by robert johnson

Posted by robert johnson on May 22, 2006 at 16:51:07:

How many cars do you have to sell before you need a dealership license.Is it against the law to sell eight cars a month and not have a license,if so what would happen if I got caught.

FL license info…thanks, Dirk - Posted by soapymac

Posted by soapymac on June 06, 2000 at 07:25:54:

Gary, What follows is a copy of a post from Dirk Roach in reference to your question. The “Search Archives” function for the MH board is not yet functional, so I hope this helps.

Cordially,
Roy MacLean
"soapymac"

Here you go…BUT
[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ CREOnline Mobile Home Q&A ]

Posted by Dirk Roach on April 26, 2000 at 13:57:20:
In Reply to: Newbie in Florida posted by t hulse on April 26, 2000 at 12:30:22:
Okay here you go, but really before this scares you, get Lonnie’s Books and read them first. YOU NEED TO KNOW THE INFO inside of them. But here is the FL Mobile Home Dealer Licensing Requirements:

Licensing Requirements for Mobile Home Dealers
In Florida, mobile home dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motor
Vehicles under Section 320.77 Florida Statutes.
The Law
Florida law states that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells,
offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in one or more mobile homes in any 12-month
period is presumed to be a mobile home dealer and must have an appropriate license
issued by the State.
License Types
There are two classes of licenses issued to mobile homes dealers. They are:
Mobile Home Dealer–for a person dealing in new or used mobile homes. This license
permits the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.
Mobile Home Broker–allows the licensee to sell used mobile homes only. This
license permits the licensee to transact business at retail of wholesale.
Application
Before going into the business of selling mobile homes, a person must submit a
completed application, with required documentation and fees. License applications may
be obtained from any Division of Motor Vehicle regional office.
General Requirements
Approval of business location by a DMV representative.
Completed application form.
Fee of $300 for each main location.
Annual fee of $40 required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust
Fund.
$25,000 surety bond.
Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
Dealer training seminar certificate.
Registration of fictitious trade name.
Copy of corporate papers.
Sales tax number.
Federal employer identification number.
Fingerprints and applicable fees. ($39 per person).
Failure to Obtain A License
Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree
misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person
will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida?s Deceptive and Unfair Trade
Practices Act, subject to fines of up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent
injunction issued by a circuit court.
Hope this helps.
Dirk