Where would you start? - Posted by Chris in CO

Posted by Doug Pretorius on April 18, 2000 at 17:08:00:

How about this:

Take your $8,000 and dig around for 8 $1,000 MH deals. Sell them for $1,000 down and a $5,000 note at 12.75% for 3 years ($167.87/month)

You will still have your $8,000 (thanks to the down payments) and you’ll have $167.87 * 8 = $1,342.96/month cashflow for the next 3 years.

That’s getting awfully close to your $2,000 goal, but I wouldn’t quit your job at that. You will officially be ‘financially independent’ of your job, which means all your job income can go into more deals.

Where would you start? - Posted by Chris in CO

Posted by Chris in CO on April 18, 2000 at 16:47:59:

Hi, everyone. I have spent many days reading the posts on this site. Fabulous and informative. I am a student of Ron LeGrand. I think his material is thorough and well done. I have studied all of his cash flow albums several times and have a good grasp of the material. I also have studied his small cash flow album backwards and forwards several times.

I have done my own prospecting for junkers. Found a few and made some offers. None got accepted. In the Denver market even junkers are getting close to retail. I have had realtors find me listings and I have spent a lot of time going to look at them. By the time I get there, the good deals are LONG gone. I just can’t get the jump on agents who comb the MLS a couple of times a day. I can’t afford to hire any ants right now. So my work in junkers never quite got off the ground.

I also called FSBOs in the paper for a few weeks trying to determine if they would sell wholesale, do seller financing or lease options. I talked to A LOT of unmotivated sellers and found it very discouraging.