wholesale properties - Posted by Tony in Dallas

Posted by Gary - IN on July 17, 2003 at 22:54:04:

Absolutely! How can you make an accurate assessment of repair costs if you don’t do a thorough inspection? You cannot offer properties to knowledgeable investors without doing your homework. All it would take is one deal where they see something obvious that you should have but didn’t, and your reputation (which is all you have in this game) is shot.

Good luck,
Gary

wholesale properties - Posted by Tony in Dallas

Posted by Tony in Dallas on July 17, 2003 at 21:14:41:

when flipping wholesale junker deals to rehab investors, is there any reason for me to go inside and personally inspect the place? I am a newbie at this, I have been reading and studying but I am getting mixed signals on this part

Re: wholesale properties - Posted by jasonrei

Posted by jasonrei on July 18, 2003 at 17:15:31:

I am a rehab investor. I don’t think there is much agreement on what a “junker” is. I still don’t think I’ve rehabbed what I think of as a junker. Still, I would buy a property without seeing the inside if it was priced low enough. I mean, I know what homes in an area will go for. I’ll price my repairs high and assume the floor plan sucks, the slab is shattered, and everything is covered in mildew and cat urine. Oh, and there are soaked phonebooks strewn about up to my chest. Basically, that I need to expect the worst.

You know, the creative side of me has wondered how much I could get for a real junker if I dress up the exterior, board the windows up good, and sold it at an auction for cash. I wouldn’t do it, but I’ve thought about it when considering my options on a house.

Re: wholesale properties - Posted by IB (NJ)

Posted by IB (NJ) on July 17, 2003 at 22:59:23: