Wholesaling Closing Agent Question - Posted by jpg

Posted by jpg on August 26, 2002 at 14:26:28:

Jim, thanks for taking the time to reply. The property is owned by a bank (after foreclosure). I am a real estate agent and submitted the contract myself. Are you aware of any other recourse I might have if their closing agent will not do a simultaneous closing?

Wholesaling Closing Agent Question - Posted by jpg

Posted by jpg on August 24, 2002 at 11:07:12:

I just made an offer on a property I want to wholesale and have received addendums stating that the seller will choose closing agent. I want to do a simultaneous close and don’t know if I can control the situation if I’m not choosing the closing attorney. Does anyone have experience with this? It is a moot point if the bank’s attorney is familiar with such. However, if they don’t allow double closingsI don’t know what my next course of action should be. Offer hasn’t been accepted yet but I want to cover all bases as I’m sure I will run into this again. Thanks!

Re: Wholesaling Closing Agent Question - Posted by Jim Kennedy

Posted by Jim Kennedy on August 24, 2002 at 18:45:03:

Here again is one of those questions that are difficult to answer without knowing some additional information.

1. Are there agents involved? A listing agent representing the seller? A buyer’s agent representing you? Or are you dealing directly with the seller?

2. Is the seller an individual or an institution? You mentioned “the bank’s attorney”. Are you referring to a bank that owns the property after foreclosure or are you referring to a bank that will be issuing new financing for your end buyer?

3. Where you are located, or more accurately, where is the property located? Why? Because MANY aspects of real estate are governed by State law and local custom. Including who selects the closing agent.