Working on first deal... - Posted by Abel B. Ramirez II

Posted by Abel B. Ramirez II on July 04, 2002 at 01:39:33:

I think your message has some good merit and not jsut because it agrees with me. I have had the realtors tell me this same thing, though like someone else replied it very well could ‘cloud’ the title. I am still learning what all that means, but…

Going back to what I DID say…I am wanting to put a contract on the house for $90K w/ a clause that the IRS liens must be cleared. If by doing so I get the opportunity to do something on my part to lower and let the owners pay off or liens be totally removed then I don’t see why not. Unless the whole ‘clouded’ title is going to be a big problem?

-= Abel=-

Working on first deal… - Posted by Abel B. Ramirez II

Posted by Abel B. Ramirez II on July 03, 2002 at 17:36:24:

I am still new to REI and I am working on a house with the following specifics.

It is a preforeclosure and the people are in deep. The house has a mortgage with a balance of $89,900 and TWO IRS liens totaling $22,000. It is half of a duplex that has been listed since NOV of 2001 and the other side which is identical sold about 3 months ago for $120,000. It needs carpet,linoleum and inside paint to look nice ($10,000?).

Now the IRS liens are the big drawback. Would it hurt any to put a contract on the house with a clause that says they must first make the IRS liens disappear and offer $90,000 for the home? The bank is ready to foreclose.

If I do put an offer on the house with that clause about the IRS liens what kind of deal should I make based on the fact I have little cash and no ‘GOOD’ credit.

I could flip the property and maybe make $3K - $4K or is that too much?

I could use hard money IF I can get it and hold on to it and either rent/lease or fix-up and relist. Remember I don’t have alot of cash ($2000).