Working with realtors? - Posted by Josh MA

Posted by Bob (Md) on February 22, 2001 at 20:34:14:

I’m a consultant by trade. Many times, I will argue the view that’s contrary to the prevailing “groupthink”, just to surface the opposing view points. You may not actually learn my opinion until the final reports are written ;-).

Saves time and energy if you decide to change viewpoints midstream, too…

Working with realtors? - Posted by Josh MA

Posted by Josh MA on February 22, 2001 at 10:58:15:

Ok guys and Girls i have a question…when working with a Agent if they have a pretty house that i want would i be able to buy it outright with Hardmoney then turn around and L/O it for more then i paid for it since i’m giving terms on the place basically my question is would a Hardmoney Lender do something like this?

On a side note…I’ll be Moving to NJ shortly any NJ investors that want to get together and talk about the market there drop me a E-mail so we can talk…Thanks!

Re: Working with realtors? - Posted by Bob (Md)

Posted by Bob (Md) on February 23, 2001 at 11:26:58:

Since nobody answered the question, I’ll try. My understanding is that hard money lenders base their loan on the value of the property, but will only loan about 55-65% of the value. That means resell value in it’s current shape, which confused me initially.

If you’re not going to fix up the property, they will go 60-65% LTV based on current value (probably requires an appraisal). If you fix it up, they’ll loan up to 60-65% of the After Repaired Value (ARV). But, they’ll only release funds up to 65% of the current value. An example…let’s say the house was purchased for $20k, and you wanted to put $20k into it for repairs. The after-repair value would be $80k. The hard money lender will do a 65% loan (in this example).