Would a Real Estate Course be a Good Idea - Posted by brenda k

Posted by HR on June 16, 2000 at 07:18:45:

Ron,

You work your biz almost exactly like I’m workin’ mine, and I agree completely with you and Vic regarding the license. Also, if you want to avoid the liability issue, have your partner (spouse, biz partner, etc) get it. That’s what my wife and I did, and it’s worked out great.

I can’t imagine not being able to access the mls from my computer at home. Why be dependant upon somebody else? It’s a no brainer.

HR

Would a Real Estate Course be a Good Idea - Posted by brenda k

Posted by brenda k on June 14, 2000 at 19:06:34:

I have an opportunity to go back to school for basically free. I am thinking of taking a course to become a realtor. I would never take the final exam so would not actually become liscened. I am wondering if this would be something that would benefit me in Real Estate investing–(I am very very new to this and thought it may help) I have already purchased carleton sheets and am just beginning to go through this. Do you think an agency course would help me or just be a waste of time?? What schooling (if any) would you recommend??

Another consideration - Posted by Bert G ND

Posted by Bert G ND on June 15, 2000 at 14:38:17:

Something I’ve been wondering about. I too have been thinking of taking the course but not the exam (already have the books).
A Realtor I spoke to said that once you have a licence, you need to find a broker to work for, pay a desk fee, NAR dues, etc. Would this still be true if my only intent was to buy & sell for my own account and not for anyone else? Would a broker let me hang my licence knowing I had no intention of bringing him any business?

BG

GET YOUR LICENSE - Posted by Soraya(SanDiego)

Posted by Soraya(SanDiego) on June 15, 2000 at 14:01:30:

Get your license.
I would not give my license up for anything.

ALSO take as many creative real estate courses as you can afford.