wraparound mortgages - Posted by Mark

Posted by JohnBoy on March 21, 2001 at 01:21:06:

Um, I’m no expert…Piper told me! Besides, wasn’t it him who always says honesty is the best answer??? LOL

wraparound mortgages - Posted by Mark

Posted by Mark on March 18, 2001 at 23:44:26:

Hi Ed and other real estate entrepreneurs,

My question regards wraparound mortgages. Do they trigger “due on sale clauses” ?

Thank you for all replies

Mark

Re: wraparound mortgages - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on March 19, 2001 at 10:11:02:

Mark,

Not if they’re sold on a Land Contract that’s not recorded.

Ed Garcia

Re: wraparound mortgages - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on March 20, 2001 at 01:28:17:

I love it when I get to disagree with you! A land contract will trigger the due on sale clause whether it’s recorded or not. The bank just may not be aware that it all took place if it’s not recorded.

JPiper

Re: wraparound mortgages - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on March 20, 2001 at 10:12:00:

Jim,

What are you smoking? I made the statement in the manner that I did because of course as you say, the bank wouldn’t know. If the bank doesn’t know, then how can it trigger? It’s perfectly legal because it’s after the fact on the disclosures.

There are lenders that would consider a wrap a junior lien and not tamper with it, there are also lenders that just can’t afford to take the time to follow up and will let it slide. But when doing a deal we don’t have the luxury of second guessing the lender, so you know what my suggestion was, what’s yours?

(smile)

Ed Garcia

Then what do you do??? - Posted by Denise FL

Posted by Denise FL on March 20, 2001 at 09:29:24:

Thanks!

A Philosophical Question… - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on March 20, 2001 at 10:54:11:

Ed:

Here’s a philosophical question for you: If a tree falls in the forest, and no one heard it…did it make a sound?