Yes I know another newbie - Posted by John Adkins

Posted by John on June 15, 2000 at 24:49:09:

Thanx!!

Yes I know another newbie - Posted by John Adkins

Posted by John Adkins on June 14, 2000 at 17:08:45:

Hello,
I am a newbie, and am just finding out on all the possibilaties real estate has to offer. I am litteraly working paycheck to paycheck. I don’t have allot of spare cash, and don’t have any credit. Sounds like the poster guy from C. Sheets T.V. ad. This isn’t a sob story. I am writing this because I am “on the fence”. I don’t know what my second step is. (The first was to find this site.)
Any response is greatly appreceated.

Sincerly,
John Adkins

Re: Yes I know another newbie - Posted by eric-fl

Posted by eric-fl on June 15, 2000 at 15:00:41:

If I may humbly suggest, all the previous options are good, and action is essential, but if you go charging blindly, you may get ripped off. If you have no money, and no credit, why not exercise a no-cost option, go to your local library, and check out a bunch of (recently published) books on real estate investment. You’ll quickly discover what interests you, what doesn’t, which authors are worthwhile, and which aren’t, all for free. Once you are familiar with the basics, including the jargon, then start reading the articles and posts on this site. And definetly do join your local club - an experience which will be all the more enhanced by your brief education. Then, start looking for motivated sellers, not houses. See Joe Kaiser’s article on this site regarding this. When you find one, make an offer on their home. Rather than trying to find a “cookie cutter” technique, and trying to fit a deal into a technique, instead, look at techniques as tools in a toolbox, and fit the technique into a deal. For example, a house suitable for lease/option, with no equity, would not be suitable for a 50% discounted all cash type offer suitable for a rehab owned by a bank.