You knew it was coming! - Posted by ChiGuy

Posted by ken in sc on March 16, 2001 at 07:16:15:

I am self employed. I provided the bank with my last 2 yrs tax returns, leases on my rental houses, and statements of my stock holdings, checking accts, etc showing that I have some money.

You knew it was coming! - Posted by ChiGuy

Posted by ChiGuy on March 14, 2001 at 12:37:17:

Hello everybody!!

Well, looks like the stock market is going straight to the dogs!

I’m new to REI, but what does this mean for us as real estate investors??

Will our business dry up as well, will it become better, or will it pretty much stay the same??

This is getting pretty scary.

Does anyone have any info on how our business fared during the '87 crash??

Take care!

ChiGuy

Re: You knew it was coming! - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on March 16, 2001 at 17:17:50:

To some degree, I think a recession or at least a slowdown will be great for us in the RE community. It will slow down the sellers market that has blanketed much of the country and will increase foreclosures due to job layoffs, etc.

This will be a great time to pick up some long-term hold properties. It may make properties tougher to resell though.

Re: You knew it was coming! - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on March 14, 2001 at 22:51:16:

The stock market is what they call a ?leading economic indicator?. They say it?s been successful at forecasting 11 out of the last 7 recessions! In other words, sometimes the stock market gets it wrong.

Either way though, I?ve followed the stock market for the last 35 years. I?m a believer that it?s a pretty efficient leading economic indicator. I believe that right now it is forecasting that we are in a recession?.and that the recession will get worse before it gets better. And keep this in mind?.the stock market now has higher individual ownership than ever before?and therefore a decline affects more people than ever before. Something to think about.