10k to 20k properties in NewYork - Posted by raisismith

Posted by E.Eka on October 16, 2003 at 14:42:15:

I think you’re right Gary. Not to many people want to invest in Pitt either. The job market is a little wavy. I guess that means a better chance to have renters.

10k to 20k properties in NewYork - Posted by raisismith

Posted by raisismith on October 15, 2003 at 22:56:12:

I live in California and I am just getting into realestate investing,…I have about 100k liquid to invest into properties and I am interested in finding properties that are cheap(10k to 20K) and in fare condition with rehab expensis not exceeding 5k to 8k and then appraise for about 35k to 40k,…and I have done alot of research on the internet and I have found many handyman specials and rehab properties in Buffalo NewYork that are forsale for between 10k to 20K,…these properties are on average 100 years old and need updating,…I want to get maybe 4 or 5 of these type of cheap properties and then rehab them and then rent them out and hire a property manager in the area to assist in move-in and collection of month to month rent with 10% of rent as compensation for services. Do you think that since I have the cash to do this,…that it would be a good thing to get involved in,…I want your honest opinion,…because it will weigh heavily on my decision.

Thank for reading,

“Smitty”

Re: 10k to 20k properties in NewYork - Posted by Kristine-CA

Posted by Kristine-CA on October 18, 2003 at 23:37:43:

If you live in CA, I suggest that you apply your ideas to CA real estate. You can apply your numbers here in CA in the Central Valley and other places in the desert. Unemployment and low rents are everywhere of course. Taking on Buffalo when you can take on Barstow or Taft or Lucerne Valley or Bakersfield is too much mis-placed energy.