15 or 30 - Posted by brill

Posted by BrokerScott (Mich) on July 20, 2003 at 06:56:10:

First- Are you sure that your wife is going to be the sole leinholder? She would normally have to qulify as an individual and refinance to do that. A quit claim deed wouldn’t release you from the mortgage. I assume that your lawyer is handling that but, wanted to make sure. As for the 15-30 question- after 7 years you would have .6421 of principal remaining with a 15 (assuming a 6% interest; yes I know the 15 would be slightly lower rate) and .8964 with a 30. All other things being equal, I would lean towards a 30 because of the cashflow issue I stated earlier. You can always take a 30 and pay it down quickly while you live there and then go back to base payments when its a rental. Scott

15 or 30 - Posted by brill

Posted by brill on July 19, 2003 at 19:21:24:

I am an admitted newbie but alas I am going to dive in to real estate having listened to Carleton Sheets and Kiyosaki I think I have learned a little about real estate so I am thinking I’m dangerous. my question is: I have scoured for about two weeks and found a nice prefab, not very well taken care of though, home on a small lot in a great community. It lists for 78k and I am planning an offer of between 68 and 72. It seems like a steal. I have good credit and have pre qualified for 130,000 at a decent rate for a first time home buyer. I plan on living in for a year fixing up and renting or selling. Should I opt for a 30yr with a 10% down or maybe a 15 with about 5k down I am unsure of which option will help me most, low payments or short term loan? any first time advice would be helpful

Re: 15 or 30 - Posted by James Mc (IL)

Posted by James Mc (IL) on July 21, 2003 at 02:31:47:

Most always, especially starting out, go 30 years.

Try to have as little money in it as possible. Always try to conserve cash.

Also your Income to Debt ratio is and will be a BIG FACTOR.

James Mc

You say… - Posted by IB (NJ)