4-plex questions - Posted by marcello

Posted by Nate on March 13, 2001 at 22:48:32:

Well thought out and informative. Thanks!

NT

4-plex questions - Posted by marcello

Posted by marcello on March 13, 2001 at 14:54:02:

Hi,

I am now in the market to purchase a 4-plex (or bigger if possible). I have looked at several and my objective is to put down enough money to balance out my rent.

Basically, I am willing to do all the managing duties if I can find a building that I can work out those numbers to cover rent.

My problem is that I am very new to real estate and I am worried about getting myself into a situation that appears as though I could meet my goals but actually cost me a lot more every month. I am aware that I can get a very low down deal because I am going to live there but that would cause me to have to pay rent. And seeing that I have money to put down, that does not make sense.

I am in Southern Califonia where the vacancy rates are very low but prices and rents are high. I have the money to put down (and good credit), and I would like to put down as little as possible to meet my objectives.

As I am trying to work out the numbers, I am hoping that someone could help me in analyzing these properties. IE, making sure I am not missing some important factors that will run my costs way up.

Also, because I will qualify for most lenders, who is the best one to go to. Should I just be looking at interest rates, or long term loans, etc?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Marcello

Re: 4-plex questions - Posted by Earnest

Posted by Earnest on March 13, 2001 at 18:50:45:

Your words sound like your stepping into unchartered territory and are understandably wary. If this is true, then congratulations on being willing to dream of a new direction and experience in your life. It’s right to think critically, of course, and right to seek as much information as possible before you blunder forth.