Airline Fares (long) - Posted by Reif

Posted by Robert McNeely on May 06, 1999 at 20:56:31:

As for the best prices, I have used “TRAVELOCITY.COM”. They will provide flight bookings starting with the lowest prices. Check it out.

Airline Fares (long) - Posted by Reif

Posted by Reif on May 06, 1999 at 20:34:13:

Lonnie posted a piece about his frustration with airline fares and the seemingly random and inconsistent pricing.

Since I’ve gotten a lot of good stuff from you guys, but can’t REALLY reciprocate yet because I’m still a newbie, let me help with something I DO know a little about.

Lonnie wrote:

“Here?s what Delta Airlines charges for a round trip ticket to Atlanta. . . . And some of the other Airline?s are even more ridiculous, plus they fly you all over the country to get you to Atlanta, a distance of 500 miles from Norfolk. At least Delta has a direct flight.”

The reality of the current airline industry is, with the rapidly growing exception of Southwest Airlines, ‘hub and spoke.’ In other words, airlines bring passengers from little airports, throught the ‘hubs,’ everyone switches airplanes, and then the planes go back to the littler aiports again. This is so the airlines can serve more ‘city pairs’ than they ever could on a bunch of non stops. As most probably know, Delta’s main hub is in Atlanta, so if you are going there, that is most likely going to be the easiest carrier to get a non stop on, unless you live in another carrier’s hub (United: Chicago; American: Dallas, Chicago and Miami; USAir: Charlotte and Philadelphia, Northwest: Detroit, Minneapolis, and Memphis).

As far as the ‘crazy’ fares go, there really is method to the madness, but it is tough for the public to see, but it is operated on a principle we all use every day - supply and demand.