Am I liable if notes I sell / flip don't perform - Posted by ChuckP

Posted by John Behle on December 14, 1998 at 17:43:24:

People I use have only select clients. From what I’ve seen and read here, Bill Bronchick’s course would be the best bet.

Am I liable if notes I sell / flip don’t perform - Posted by ChuckP

Posted by ChuckP on December 01, 1998 at 18:31:18:

John,

I intend to owner-finance a home-buyer with a 10% down, a 10% Second, and a 80% First.

A note-buyer is willing to buy the First paying 91% of the face value.

The question is: If the home-buyer fail to pay the new note-owner down the road, am I liable for paying him back his money. Is there something I can do to protect myself from that?

Thanks in advance, I am new in this,
ChuckP

Yes - unless you protect yourself - Posted by John Behle

Posted by John Behle on December 03, 1998 at 13:18:48:

Making the note “non-recourse” can help, but may not be saleable. Yet, even being “non-recourse” does not protect the broker or seller of the note.

There is implied recourse in the sale of a note unless you specifically exempt it. So, in this case, let’s say Paul is the payor on the note. Even if you made the note non-recourse with a clause like “the property is the sole security for this note”, the buyer of the note may still be able to hold you liable. It’s a different transaction with different laws that apply.

I’m not saying it wouldn’t help, or that you could possibly find a buyer to buy the note, it just doesn’t address the larger issue or your liablity as a note seller or broker.