bunkruptcy dismissed? - Posted by susan

Posted by Tim- chi on September 11, 2003 at 20:16:40:

Mike,

Is the seller in bankruptcy now? If so, they must list all assets/liabilities. If you’d like you can email me and we can discuss this. I have a Pacer account which allows me to pull a debtors petition- we can confirm what he’s showing to the court.

I’ll be glad to help you if I can.

Tim

bunkruptcy dismissed? - Posted by susan

Posted by susan on September 11, 2003 at 13:32:44:

I’m new to the bankruptcy land (do have an appointment with lawyer next week) and looking for guidance on a deal. I have an agreement to buy his property (not in the bankruptcy) to pay off numerous creditors. We were just about to sign the paperwork and he informs me the bankruptcy has been dismissed and they are going to foreclose on him. Any suggestions from you pros before i talk to a lawyer on a good way to approach this. I have about 10 deals under my belt, just not dealing with this. Thanks.

Re: bunkruptcy dismissed? - Posted by Tim- chi.

Posted by Tim- chi. on September 11, 2003 at 14:38:51:

Susan,

It’s good to get legal advice before you proceed. A few things that you may want to review with the seller: you mention that the property is not in the bankruptcy, however, the seller must list all assets/liabilities and therefore the property is likely considered part of the bankruptcy estate. It sounds like the seller failed to pay the mortgagee who in turn filed a motion with the bankruptcy court to proceed with the foreclosure. You can still buy the property, in fact you now can do so without needing to get the court to agree to the sale which is good because from my experience the bankruptcy Trustee will want some consideration to allow the sale which will then be used to pay other creditors.