Buy w/ cash - Posted by Charles

Posted by Tom on November 20, 2000 at 09:53:21:

Charles, you can always use CASH, you have to look at the return. Depending on your other income I would look at buying a couple of units and increase your cash flow. (that really depends on if you want to be a landlord) The important thing here is: “DO YOUR RESEARCH” know what your return will be. Beleive me, it much easier to deal with the cash in your pocket.

Buy w/ cash - Posted by Charles

Posted by Charles on November 20, 2000 at 08:37:33:

I’m new to the game of REI so I beg your indulgence if this sounds like a stupid question. I am looking at a windfall of cash in the near future that if I wanted to, I could purchase a typical two unit rental property in my area with all cash. I would likely live in the one apartment and rent out the other. Is it advisable to use this cash to pay for the rental property entirely so that I do not have to get a mortgage?

I was figuring that the home would then have all the equity built up in it and therefore when I sold, the money would be all mine. Any rent money I collect should more than offset taxes and upkeep with some left over to invest in other vehicles (perhaps more real estate). It seems logical to me but after monitoring these boards, it seems that the more experienced investors let someone else’s money pay for the property. Would it then be better to use the money to put down payments on multiple properties?

I have not found anything written about this yet , but if there is, if anyone could point me in the right direction, I’d appreciate it very much.

Thank you,
Charles

Re: Buy w/ cash - Posted by Brent_IL

Posted by Brent_IL on November 20, 2000 at 16:26:37: