Buying Full Market Value with Good Terms - Posted by SharonB

Posted by Brent_IL on February 08, 2002 at 18:54:47:

nt

Buying Full Market Value with Good Terms - Posted by SharonB

Posted by SharonB on February 08, 2002 at 18:30:46:

Ok…this might be a dumb question, so please go along with the newbie here :slight_smile: The numbers are a little vague, but it is just a scenario I put together.

Would you buy a home on the following terms with no money out of pocket:

Seller asking: $200,000
Comps around: $200,000

Obtain a loan for 80% (a lender allowing the seller carry the other 20%)
Seller willing to carry 20%
Seller willing to pay closing costs.

This would be a situation with no out of pocket expenses, but paying full market value. Then do a l/o to make a profit.

Does this sound feasible, would anyone do it?

Granted it is not a whole lot of profit, but then you did get the property with no money.

Re: Buying Full Market Value with Good Terms - Posted by JamesL (Ohio)

Posted by JamesL (Ohio) on February 08, 2002 at 23:55:31:

Say your payments to the bank on your 160,000 loan are $1350/mo.
And your payments to the seller are $300/mo.
Do you think you can get a buyer to Lease option the property from you for a minimum of $2000/mo?
Even in that scenario, with the buyer paying all of the bills, you would only profit $350/mo. Is that good for you??
Good Luck with your decisions.

Re: Buying Full Market Value with Good Terms - Posted by phil fernandez

Posted by phil fernandez on February 08, 2002 at 18:51:09:

Depends,

If the seller carryback was at maybe 0% interest for 3 to 5 years I’d do it. Or maybe with no payments to the seller with a lump some of the 20% with no interest in 5 years. The point I’m getting at is everything is price and terms.