Capital Gains - Posted by David

Posted by firefox on September 02, 2003 at 03:39:56:

Why take all profits out of the business?

A C-Corporation:

Nets passive losses against ordinary income.

Boosts growth and reduces borrowing (15% bracket).

Double tax only matters if you have cash to distribute. The 15% tax bracket in a C Corp is ideal for paying non-deductible expenses like principal or split-dollar life insurance.

Capital Gains - Posted by David

Posted by David on August 26, 2003 at 08:41:10:

To all you investors out there that have delt with capital gains, I need your help. I am new to this investing in real estate and would like to go into it as soon as possible. All the books and seminars in the out there can’t prepare you for the real world in real estate investing. I would say that you have to get your feet wet. However with all there is to take in, it would make a person to feel a little bit reluctant to “jump in” so to speak. I plan to reahab properties for quick resale. That is where capital gains come into play. I am forming an LLC, will that help me? Also I thought that if you took your profits from one house and put it into another, could you avoid getting hit with capital gains. Also, how much should I expect to pay in taxes should I hold about a $10,000 profit? Thanks for your help.

Re: Capital Gains - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on August 26, 2003 at 11:13:35:

David-------------

Don’t worry about capital gains taxes–you won’t have to pay any.

Of course, that is because the profits of quick turnover property are all taxed at your regular ordinary income tax rate. There are no tax breaks for real estate merchandising, which is what you are proposing to do. If you want any tax breaks, you have to do real estate investing–which is holding properties for long periods of time, typically with rental income.

I am not an attorney or a tax lawyer. You might want to consult such a person or persons.