Convention - Posted by Josh MA

Posted by kate- on February 10, 2001 at 19:19:54:

I agree with HR. If you want to happen, it will. I say this only bc if I can find the money and time, anyone can. I am a first year law student at a solid first tier school (referring to the time constraint–1st year is the hardest, time-wise). But more importantly, I have upwards of 50K in educational debt after only 1 year of law school (and undergrad) and good 20K of consumer debt to boot (and absolutely no help from family, unlike many of my fellow students whose education is completely paid for).
I don’t have a spending problem anymore, but I did. That on top of no budgeting skills did not make a pretty picture.

Suddenly, this X-mas while spending time with my 9 month old niece, I realized that there was no way I could see myself working 80+ hours a week for a firm. Especially in 5 years or so when I want to have a family of my own. However, the path that I was on required me to give myself over to the firm in order to receive the 160K salary that would necessary to sustain the life that a successful new associate in a Manhattan law firm must maintain. By that I mean education loan payment (the mortgage without a house is how we law students refer to it), rent (Manhattan!! 'nuff said), clothes, restaurants and drinks when networking, etc. It is really one of the most high priced lifestyles bc you must constantly look like a million dollars. (Lawyers are sooo into prestige!)
This I do not want since it is not conducive to building assets-- it is just simply acquiring liabilities. — per my newfound RK insight