Discounting a note - Posted by L. Casey

Posted by Stacy (AZ) on February 21, 1999 at 17:15:24:

I would suggest posting this on the cash-flow newsgroup. But one thing I would consider doing is to split the note into two (John Behle calls this a leveragectomy) The first should be at 80% LTV ($43K) and you could probably sell it for 91% to 95%, depending on the note buyer’s criteria and payee’s credit rating. This would be close to your $41K. Then you would keep the second note for some nice monthly income.

I’m still learning about notes through John Behle’s courses, but just wanted to throw out an idea for consideration.

Stacy

Discounting a note - Posted by L. Casey

Posted by L. Casey on February 21, 1999 at 17:04:09:

Here are the facts of my transaction. I am escrow to purchase a two-bedroom fixer house for $16,000. The repair costs should be no more than $13,000. I have a hard money lender that is going to lend $25,000. All I have to put into the deal is $6000 of my own money to cover closing costs, points and a fee to the person who found the deal.

My total costs into the deal will be approx. $31,000. The house will appraise at approx. $54,000 when all the repairs are completed.

When I sell the house, Here is how I would structure the deal. Sales price $54,000. Owner financing amortized for 30 years.

Down Payment: $5,400
loan amount: $48,600
Interest Rate: 10%
Payment: $426.50

I would have a simulatinuous closing and sell the $48,600 note at a discount.

How much would I be able to get for this note?.. I would would like to get at least $41,000.

The buyer would have a C-D credit rating.

Any advise on change this deal?

Re: Discounting a note - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on February 22, 1999 at 09:55:54:

L. Casey:

First of all I like the answer that Bud Branstetter gave you.
He was making the note more attractive so it would be more marketable.

Secondly, it?s interesting how each of us see things so differently.