Equity Sharing - Posted by David D

Posted by Joe Kaiser on April 05, 1999 at 18:49:49:

Tenants with deeds turned out to be too scary.

Equity Sharing - Posted by David D

Posted by David D on April 05, 1999 at 18:31:24:

Do you recall the Paul Simon Equity Sharing concept circa 1980s. What ever became of Simon? Why is Equity Sharing not being used today?

Re: Equity Sharing - Posted by Bill Gatten

Posted by Bill Gatten on April 06, 1999 at 20:03:26:

I’m a Paul Simon graduate and virtual “worshipper”: singularly the greatest teacher and seminar leader who ever blessed the planet (present company excluded).
His info-mercial got me two town houses, then when his tapes arrived I listened to them (14 hours) 25-30 times, learning more each time, and eventually began doing his seminars across the country (with his Kansas Good Ol’ Boy accent).

Originally we did over 300 Simon-type transactions (and acquired some 25-30 properties on our own) without a hitch, in the worst market California has ever seen.

When the market got worse and worse, equity sharing got better and better (in those days, it was a great way to acquire a home if you didn’t have any credit or money; and a great way sell a house if you didn’t have any equity).

In 1993, however, tiring of the holes and rough edges in the overall concept, we began underpinning our Equity Share Transactions with an Illinois Land Trust, and Voila (is that the way to spell that, JPiper?) the PACTrust was born!

Interestingly, at first it took us a year to realize that the PACTrust was not just an ideal legal shield for an Equity Share. It was, in fact, also a virtually foolproof way to shield all other creative financing techniques: Land Contracts, AITD’s, Lease Options, Lease Purchases, Rent to Owns, etc, etc.