fee for brokering? - Posted by Jim M.

Posted by Jeff Isaacson on November 14, 2000 at 07:21:00:

I have the same question. I realize that every deal is different. However, what would be an average range of fees for a straightforward deal? Would 1% of the outstanding balance be rediculiously low? Would 10% be gouging? I have heard of charging a 2% spread on the yield. Has anyone else ever heard of this?

fee for brokering? - Posted by Jim M.

Posted by Jim M. on November 13, 2000 at 17:31:57:

I am just getting started and am interested in brokering notes at retail until I can learn the ins and outs of this business. What kind of fee should I charge that would be fair on notes from $75,000-100,000? Should I deal with more than one company or several? Thanks.

Re: fee for brokering? - Posted by Rick Roberts - KC

Posted by Rick Roberts - KC on November 18, 2000 at 22:09:40:

Your fee will be driven by 1) your note buyers price to you and, as a result, 2) the amount that you can put on top of that discount. A caveat in this regard, is to be careful not to kill a deal with an unreasonable fee. Keep in mind that your rewards from closing a deal will be made up of the (obvious) fee PLUS the experience and knowledge that you gained in doing so. Many novice brokers forget about the second piece of the equation and walk away from deals that are too “skinny” for a substantial fee.

As Mike says, some will work with you for a flat referral fee. This is an attractive consideration as well.

Work with a patient and reliable funder or two…Don’t try to make a killing on every deal…Always carry out your transactions with high integrity…Strive to continually improve your understanding of the industry by reading and reinvesting your earnings in relevant materials…Stay focused and driven… A dynamite recipe for “newbie” success!!

Rick

Re: fee for brokering? - Posted by Ron Ohara

Posted by Ron Ohara on November 13, 2000 at 23:49:04: