Financing Ideas - Posted by Aaron

Posted by Michel Payette on March 16, 2001 at 05:33:17:

Thanks! (nt)

Financing Ideas - Posted by Aaron

Posted by Aaron on March 11, 2001 at 19:58:33:

Hi Everyone, I was wondering if any of you have ways for me to finance in future deals that I may have. Although I haven’t found any deals yet. I am still learning as much as I can before I go out and make my first deal.

Here is my situation: I have $2000 to invest.Although

Idon’t know how to obtain financing?Could someone point me in hte right directions on several different ways that I could get financing for rehab properties?

Thanks, Aaron Thompson

Re: Financing Ideas - Posted by Bob (Md)

Posted by Bob (Md) on March 13, 2001 at 12:14:47:

The best source that I know of is to build a relationship with a small bank that does construction financing. The loans work like hard money lending, but at much lower rates. Typically, the bank will want to know you, know that you have experience in the business aspect, know that the deal makes sense, and will usually only loan in their own town or county. They may ask for additional collateral if they don’t know you (e.g., the equity in your home, or your new pickup truck). Sometimes these are called portfolio loans, because the bank will keep the loan in-house (rather than selling the note to investors).

As an example, my small town bank will do construction loans with the following terms:

7.75% interest rate, interest payments only
one year baloon, no pre-payment penalty
1 or 2 points origination fee
will loan up to 75% of after-repair appraisal
escrow funds and release as work progresses (no cash out)

To give you an idea of the difference, a hardmoney loan will have the same general structure, but will cost 3-4 points origination fee, will be 14-18% interest, and will only go 60-65% ARV.