Financing - Posted by Marie

Posted by phil fernandez on March 10, 1999 at 19:11:13:

The banner came down today. I don’t see it up there anymore. You might want to e mail JP. It might have got erased by mistake or perhaps the boot camp is already filled up.

Financing - Posted by Marie

Posted by Marie on March 10, 1999 at 05:38:59:

We have been in the investing game for 2 years part time and are now trying to get into it full time. I am a designer and my husband is a building contractor. We were initially with a partner that did not know enoough about how to finance these deals. We got stuck with 2 year ballon notes. We have bought 7 houses in that time, sold 4, closing on 2 this month, refinancing the last one. All of these houses were bought with no money down. Now we are trying to buy more houses, multi-family properties and some small apartment buildings. The problem is I am working with a mortgage broker and they are doing fine, but the lender they have located is a real “PILL”. He tells me that you can not buy property anymore with no money down because wall street won’t buy the paper due to 12% of investor loan went bellyup. I know about banks and private money, but is there anyway -today- to buy property with literally no money out of my pocket, with a 15,20 or 30 year note, without balloon payments of 2 years, at 75% loan to value and money to us at closing for the rehab? We have done it like this as little as one year ago, but it was a 2 year ballon. I was wondering if there was a way without the seller holding a second (most people I purchase from are in such bad shape they can’t afford to hold paper). I think it is ridiculous to pay a lender closing costs at the purchase, then again upon refinancing in two years and then again when you sell. The only person making money on that deal is the lender X3. I also think that this young male loan officer was trying to dissuade me from getting into this business. His answer to that question was either a three