General Contractor or Handyman - Posted by N2 R.E.

Posted by Jonathan Rexford on December 24, 1999 at 07:44:20:

I would always reccommend a contractor. I am a General Contractor so I am a little Bias on this particular subject. It really depends what type of rehab work is being done. If you have to get a permit… then definitely use a GC if its just cosmetic and a little lite carpentry use a GREAT handyman. If you are a little short on cash the GC may pitch in for a slice of the pie. I am doing one right now that I am adding on a bedroom and master bath and roof upgrading the electric and new a/c. So you can see I need a permit for this type of construction.

Please consider the following:
Purchased home
have home drawn up and egineered
take to building department for their blessing 5-6 weeks

Start work another 8 weeks inspections by the following

A/C Inspector
Electrical Inspector
Plumbing Inspector
Roof Inspector
Framing Inspector

All these people looking at the job that you are doing. And if their is a problem LOOK OUT the LAWYERS are coming. So you may save a few bucks by using a handyman, but in the long run a GC is going to make your life a lot easier. I would find a GC that is doing the type of rehab work that you are looking to do. If you have any question please give me a email

Just my 2 cents
Jonathan Rexford
Rexford Incorporated
Licensed General Contractor
Licensed Mortgage Broker

General Contractor or Handyman - Posted by N2 R.E.

Posted by N2 R.E. on December 24, 1999 at 02:06:12:

I am in the process of starting the rehab of my first project. However, I’m not sure if I should go the general contractor route or handyman route?

The general contractor is appealing because I have a full time job which leaves me little time to manage the process. It’s also appealing because they have experience managing projects such as this.