HAVE AN IDEA - Posted by Sharonda

Posted by Brad Crouch on December 15, 1999 at 03:57:22:

Hey Ben,

Wouldn’t this be the same as a notebuyer buying a 2nd mortgage? What about the old standby, “as long as you are a principal in the deal, no license is required”?
I would think that especially if you did not do this as a regular business (for others), there would be no problem.

With a “referral fee” arrangement with a loan officer, I would think this could be a good “program”.

Thanks,

Brad

HAVE AN IDEA - Posted by Sharonda

Posted by Sharonda on December 14, 1999 at 18:15:51:

I just had an idea. As a loan officer I frequently came across people that had delinquent taxes and were willing to refinace to become current. However many of these I just could not fit into my guidelines even when there was an extremely low LTV. My thought is this: what if a private individual offered to “refinance” their property and hold the new mortgage? First off I don’t know if this would make someone a “lender” thereby making them subject to bank regulations. But if it didn’t would it then be feasible to do this and hold this note for some amount of time or sell this note for a small yield? If this is feasible then I am ready with two clients. If not maybe someone can offer some advice. Thanking you in advance!!
LET’S GET IT ON!!!

Good idea - Posted by Ben

Posted by Ben on December 14, 1999 at 18:51:30:

I do a similar thing (albeit involuntary) in that I buy