Health Issues for Rehabbers - Posted by Kim-OH

Posted by Jerry Martin NC on September 07, 2004 at 09:27:54:

God bless you Kim. I have worked with bird control and am very familiar with Histoplasmosis. It was discovered with a boy scout troop out west that was earning merit badges and over 30% of them got it. This was sometime in the late 60s.
Kim if there is anything any of us can do let us know. In the mean time many prayers will continue to go up.
Jerry

Health Issues for Rehabbers - Posted by Kim-OH

Posted by Kim-OH on September 07, 2004 at 08:16:59:

Greetings All,

Some of you know that I have been facing a health crisis for the past several months. I have some answers that are both good and bad and I feel that I must share them with folks here. They are not meant to scare folks or to stop folks from reaching their goals. My story is meant to temper entheusiasm with reality and if I help even one person take appropriate precaution then I will feel this revelation is worth it.

On Friday Sept. 3, 2004 I had about a third of my right lung removed. When we first found the leison it was assumed it was cancer. The good news is that it’s not cancer. The bad news is that it is something called nectrotizing granulating histoplasmosis. This means it’s an infection brought about by my exposure to pigeon guano in a rehab project I did back in 1991. In this property there were thousands if not hundreds of thousands of pigeons living in the property. We cleaned up droppings that in some areas approached nearly knee deep.

During this time I requested that the General Contractor provide us with masks, more specifically canister fillter masks that were recommended for such a clean up. He declined. I poo pooe’d the warning as just those of over zealous health officials wanting to interfer in our business.