Help!!!! Quickly!!! - Posted by Kevin(OK)

Posted by Redline on June 18, 1999 at 11:13:10:

I’m no expert - but a few points:

1. If he couldn’t/wouldn’t pay the mortgage, why do you trust him to pay you now, on time? OK, so now he’s got a job - will he keep it. Does he make a habit of losing jobs or was it a “one-off”? Check it out.

2. Selling back at $42k seems a little low … being that it’s going to cost you atleast $34k to bring the mortgage current not including closing costs.

3. When is this guy going to be able to qualify for financing to cash you out? Have a good mortgage broker check him out and let you know if he can qualify and how much for. You don’t want to wait forever for your cash.

Good luck and keep us posted,
RL

Help!!! Quickly!!! - Posted by Kevin(OK)

Posted by Kevin(OK) on June 18, 1999 at 09:11:42:

Here is the deal. Homeowner is in forclosure, he owes a total of $31K on two mortgages that are both over 15 years old. I have not pulled comps yet, but the tax appraisal is $52K (%80 of neighborhoods fmv). My guesstimate of value is in the $60K range. He says it will take about $3K to bring both mort.'s current, payments total $405 and he wants to stay in the house (he mentioned renting it from me). I need to act quickly before more investors contacts him.

I have recommended to him that I will bring his mortgage current, and allow him to rent-to-own the house back at $505 per month (he is working now), and he can buy the house back in the $42K range. I also offered him a $2K for him to find a nice apartments somewhere. I tried to set a time up with him to meet, but he got cold feet and said that he wants to talk to the mort. co.'s to see what his payoff is and find out his options.

What can I offer to get him more motivated?

All suggestions are welcome.

Thanks again!

Kevin(OK)

Here’s an Idea… - Posted by Dave

Posted by Dave on June 19, 1999 at 24:10:07: