How do I find a good Agent??? - Posted by Sam (BigD Tx)

Posted by Chenel Moore_Fl on March 15, 2001 at 08:28:37:

Trust me, I am a real estate agent who has the been the victim of agent abuse. That’s why I am now unloading a property that I should have sold months ago. Now if that isn’t the joke of the day, I don’t know what else is!!!

How do I find a good Agent??? - Posted by Sam (BigD Tx)

Posted by Sam (BigD Tx) on March 14, 2001 at 13:19:06:

Hello everyone. Big ups to this RE community. This is the place to be.

I am trying to put the vital parts together for my network starting with an agent. I walked into a Century 21 office and asked to speak with an agent. This very old lady leaning forward (about 70, maybe the head of the franchise the way the secretary respects her with “yes mams”) came out to greet me and invited me into her office. Almost before I could sat down she asked " How can I help you?" I responded “Well I’m a looking to invest in some properties. Do you work with investors?” and she replies " Sir, we work with anyone buying properties. What prices are you looking for?". I told her anything from the 60k and below, as this is what I can qualify for. Now mind you I know I’m not suppose to be trying to qulify for a loan to invest all the time but thought I’d better play it safe for now. Now that I think about it, it really exudes a lack of confidence. So, I thought good enough. She asked “How will you be paying? Will be with cash or terms?” I told her “Well mam that depends on the deal and if my partner will be willing to invest, if not then I have to come up with some type of financing”. She told me to come back in about an hour. I think she is compiling a list. My question is when should I ask to see the MLS list or if this is even the way to make an attempt at cultivating a relationship with an agent. Being that she is so old is this a plus or minus. Any advice would be well appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sam