How many would do this deal? - Posted by Rob Ricker

Posted by Jay(TN) on September 07, 2003 at 20:12:11:

Excellent!!! Thanks a lot.

I purchased a house 6 weeks ago and rented it out yesterday… I knew it was a good investment. I ran the numbers in your spreadsheet. After tax IRR of 32%. Very nice!!!

Jay

How many would do this deal? - Posted by Rob Ricker

Posted by Rob Ricker on September 06, 2003 at 02:38:23:

3 Br/1Ba 1120 Sq Ft
1954 Brick Starter Home

FMV = $68,000
PITI = $527/mo (10.55%)

Seller Owes $51,120 + $2,100 prepayment penalty if paid off within the next two years. Sellers needs $6,000 cash to get into his next house. He is pre-approved by Wells-Fargo. I offered $6,000 cash thinking that I could get the guy to re-finance at a lower rate (he’s ok with that), but his credit sucks. I’m a mortgage broker, so I know that the guy only qualifies for 85% LTV and he basically told me that Wells Fargo is commiting loan fraud just to get him into his next house (phantom second Mortgage). I have $29,000 reserve (- $6,000 if I do this deal) and $21,000 in 401K if I get into trouble. This would be my 4th property. I did not want to spend any cash for down payment, but I feel obligated to follow through with what I told the seller. I’ve got a renter lined up for $600/mo or I can probably Lease Option for $2,000 down, $650/mo rent ($125 option). and $74,900 Option price. I would like to hear some personal opinions.

I would - Posted by B.L.Renfrow

Posted by B.L.Renfrow on September 06, 2003 at 11:02:54:

I agree the numbers aren’t spectacular, but I think it’s good enough, since you have both cash AND a tenant in reserve.

The high interest on the existing financing is really irrelevant at this point, since you can get adequate cash flow regardless.

Now, if you were a newbie with no cash, no credit and no experience proposing this as your first deal, I’d say no way in he**. But given your situation, it sounds fine.