How much does death in property affect it's value? - Posted by Rent2Owner

Posted by Redline on November 25, 2000 at 23:55:51:

NJ has no such law. Sellers are not required to disclose this information.

RL

How much does death in property affect it’s value? - Posted by Rent2Owner

Posted by Rent2Owner on November 22, 2000 at 10:41:09:

I have been renting a property in Southern California for the past 2 1/2 years. My landlord recently offered to sell me the property for $225,000. First of all I don’t know how to determine if what he’s asking is fair market value concidering that this area of the country is a hot sellers market. Based on what I saw for comps on HomeRadar.com I think he may be as much as 20K high on his price. Second, after talking with one of my neighbors about buying the home, they told me that 11 or 12 years ago a previous owner committed suicide in the garage. The landlord never told me about this. This fact does not concern me about buying the house but I would think it would affect the value of the house. Can anyone give me an idea as to how much this would affect the value of the property or the price he is asking?

Re: How much does death in proper - Posted by dewCO

Posted by dewCO on November 22, 2000 at 22:15:03:

From 11 or 12 years ago? You’ve got to be kidding. Of course not.

Does death in property affect it’s value? - Posted by Tom

Posted by Tom on November 22, 2000 at 12:29:36:

It will and does effect the value, but in my state and most others there is NO duty to disclose. See below:

38-35.5-101 Circumstances psychologigically impacting real property - no duty for broker or salesperson to disclose

(1) Facts or suspicions regarding circumstances occurring on a parcel of property which could psychologically impact or stimatize such property are not material facts subject to a disclosure in a real estate transaction.

It goes on to list the those circumstances including suicide, homicide, HIV, AIDS, or felonies.