How much knowledge needed? - Posted by SPL

Posted by Bernard Collier on March 12, 2002 at 19:48:04:

None.
Well a little. You need to know at least the property values of the nieghborhoods you are going to deal in and what type of deals are available in your area. So you can see what is a good deal.
The course you follow should outline the “how to” portion. By following the course you should be able to jump in head first.

How much knowledge needed? - Posted by SPL

Posted by SPL on March 12, 2002 at 03:57:14:

I’m a newbie into the real estate scene. My previous experience is in finance. How much (and where) do I need to learn about real estate before I can put programs such as carleton sheets, john beck, and Robert Kiyosaki, etc, into action? I mean how should I go about getting basics before I leap into the fire with no experience? I mean getting experience seems like everything requires a fair amount of capital… even if tax leins is used which seems to be the cheapest, I could shell out a couple grand without really knowing everything. Where should I start?

Re: How much knowledge needed? - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on March 12, 2002 at 23:32:48:

SPL-------------

I have a post addressing these issues. Put “beginners success” into the search function on either this Carleton Sheets board2 or the main bulletin board of the CREONLINE.COM forum. JohnBoy also has his advice of beginners. He references it pretty regularly. Paul put a suggestion post here on the board2 which you can find by searching for “expert.” His and mine were posted last year.

Good InvestingRon Starr******

Re: How much knowledge needed? - Posted by Joe

Posted by Joe on March 12, 2002 at 21:51:16:

SPL: